CfP: HDLS 14, November 20-22, 2020, the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico

Conferences & workshops


The High Desert Linguistics Society is pleased to announce our 14th biennial conference, HDLS 14. The conference will take place November 20-22, 2020 at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico. HDLS 14 will focus on research in cognitive and functional linguistics, typology, sociocultural linguistics, indigenous languages, and Hispanic linguistics. This conference will also highlight interdisciplinary research from the point of view of psychology, cognitive science, anthropology, education, and computer science, among others.

We are honored to announce that our keynote presenters for HDLS 14 are:

Barbara Dancygier, University of British Columbia
Ryan Lepic, Gallaudet University
Catherine Rhodes, University of New Mexico

Applicants can submit abstracts for presentations, posters, and themed panels. Abstracts for presentations and posters must be no more than 300 words excluding examples, tables, charts, and references (ASL submission; 2-4 minute video).

For themed panels, each presenter will have 20 minutes, plus 30 minutes of discussion for the panel as a whole. Presenters interested in this format are responsible for deciding who will be part of the suggested panel. Only one document should be submitted per panel. The document should include the proposed panel topic (300 words; 2-4 minutes), and how each presenter will contribute to it (500 words total; 4-6 minutes).

Abstracts may be submitted in English, Spanish, or American Sign Language. Applicants may submit one single-authored and one co-authored abstract. All written abstracts should be submitted to the EasyChair link below. Abstracts in ASL should be uploaded to a file-sharing website and shared with

UPDATE: In light of the developing situation regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to host HDLS 14 as a fully virtual conference.

EasyChair link:

For any further information please visit our website at or email us at

Organzing Committee:

Sharifa Bahri

Daven Hobbs

Ryan D. Smith

Joonyeop Baek

Frances Jones

Len Nils Beké

Paul Twitchell

Review Overview
User Rating:
(53 votes)
Written by Johanna